Idaho Book of the Year Announced

August 2016

The Idaho Library Association is pleased to announce that the book, Idaho Microbes: How Tiny Single-celled Organisms Can Harm, or Save, Our World by Steve Stuebner, published by Boise State University, has been selected to receive the Idaho Library Association Book of the Year Award for 2015.

The award, established in 1985, is given annually to encourage excellence in writing and to recognize the book that has made an outstanding contribution to literature by an Idaho author or made an outstanding contribution to materials about Idaho.

In addition to the Idaho Book of the Year Award, this title also received a silver medal in the “science” category from the Independent Publisher Book Awards, also known as an IPPY.

Author Steve Stuebner has written widely about environmental issues and has published more than 10 books. Editor and co-author Todd Shallat is a Professor of History at Boise State University. Both writers reside in Boise, Idaho.

The award will be presented at the Idaho Library Association’s annual meeting October 6-7, 2016 in Idaho Falls, Idaho.

Honorable mention was awarded to Encounters With the People: Written and Oral Accounts of Nez Perce Life to 1858, edited by Dennis W. Baird, Diane Mallickan, and William Swagerty, published by Washington State University Press.

For additional information, please contact:
Heather Stout
Chairperson, ILA Book of the Year Award,

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.